



# Revised Mandate: Report COVID-19 Hospitalizations, Deaths, and Outbreaks February 14, 2022

Both health care providers (HCPs) and laboratories are required to report cases of COVID-19 pursuant to provisions of Title 17, California Code of Regulations sections 2500 and 2505. The State Health Officer released temporary modifications on February 10, 2022.

#### State Public Health Officer Order

- 1. California Code of Regulations, title 17, sections 2500(b) and 2500(j) are temporarily modified to eliminate the requirements for health care providers to report COVID-19 cases, except as follows:
  - a. Within one working day of identification of hospitalization and/or death of a patient due to COVID-19, health care providers shall report this information.
  - b. The reporting of hospitalizations and deaths by healthcare providers required by subparagraph a. is in addition to weekly reporting of hospitalized COVID-19 cases by hospitals as required under AFL 21-25.[3]
  - c. Health care providers conducting point of care testing must still report test results consistent with the requirements for laboratories.[4]
- 2. California Code of Regulations, title 17, sections 2505(a)(3) and (e)(1) are temporarily modified to allow for laboratories to report COVID-19 results within 24 hours from the time the laboratory notifies the health care provider or other person authorized to receive the report.

## Reporting Hospitalizations and Deaths to Sacramento County Public Health (SCPH)

- 1. **Complete** a confidential morbidity report (CMR) form or electronically via CalREDIE Provider Portal for all hospitalizations and/or deaths. See Reporting COVID-19 Hospitalizations, Deaths, and Positive Tests.

  Note that hospitalized COVID-19 case reporting should include those who:
  - Test positive for COVID-19 (via PCR, antigen, or sequencing).
  - Have acute symptoms consistent with COVID-19 requiring hospitalization
  - Admitted for at least 24 hours (not emergency department or outpatient visits only)
- 2. **Provide** medical records for all hospitalizations and/or deaths (e.g. admit note, history and physical, progress notes, discharge note/death summary).

## **Outbreak Reporting**

Acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, and long-term acute care hospitals are still required to report outbreaks to SCPH. See <u>CDPH AFL 20-75.1</u> for thresholds and outbreak definitions.

#### Resources

- 1. State Public Health Officer Order of February 10th, 2022 (CDPH): https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Order-of-the-State-Public-Health-Officer-Revision-of-Mandatory-Reporting-of-Covid-19-Results-by-Health-Care-Providers.aspx
- 2. Reporting COVID-19 Hospitalizations, Deaths, and Positive Tests (SCPH): <a href="https://dhs.saccounty.gov/PUB/Documents/AZ-Health-Info/ME-ReportingCOVID19HospitalizationsAndDeaths20210924.pdf">https://dhs.saccounty.gov/PUB/Documents/AZ-Health-Info/ME-ReportingCOVID19HospitalizationsAndDeaths20210924.pdf</a>
- 3. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Outbreak Investigation and Reporting Thresholds (CDPH ALF 20-75.1): https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCO/LCP/Pages/AFL-20-75.aspx

Sincerely,

Olivia Kasirye, MD, MS Public Health Officer

Oliva Kange MD