# CAR SEAT RESOURCES IN THE SACRAMENTO AREA

The agencies below help parents and caregivers with installing child safety seats correctly. Some agencies may provide low-cost seats to families who qualify.

## **Car Seat Classes**

Agencies below offer car seat classes by appointment only. Call for more information.

**Dignity Health**: Provides a low-cost car seat program for low-income families with proof of assistance. The program includes online car seat education training and in-person appointments to show installation. Appointments are offered in-person and virtual child safety seat checks. Child safety seat checks appointments can be scheduled on the website: Safekidssacramento.org

### Call for more information:

English (916) 864-5779 Spanish (916) 904-3799 Hmong (916) 864-5541

**\*UC Davis Health**: Free car seat classes in English and Spanish for eligible families. Classes are currently offered virtually, for more information and to set up an appointment please call: (916) 734-9798

## **California Car Seat Law**

Effective January 1, 2017: Children under 2 years of age must ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat. Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4'9" in height must be secured by a safety belt. Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.

#### SACRAMENTO COUNTY



## **Violator Program**

Programs are offered for car seat and youth seat belt violations. Programs are by appointment and court referral only. Classes may be offered virtually or in person, call for more information.

\*UC Davis Health Buckle Up Baby Program: (916) 734-9798

\*Yolo County HHSA: (530) 406-4410

\*Dignity Health: English (916) 864-5779 Spanish (916) 904-3799 Hmong (916) 864-5541 Russian (916) 864-5566



## **Car Seat Checks**

El Dorado: El Dorado Hills Fire Department (916) 933-6623

#### **Folsom:**

Folsom Fire Department (916) 461-6300

#### Placer: CHP Newcastle (916) 663-3344

**Rocklin:** Rocklin Public Safety Foundation (916) 625-5440

Lighthouse Counseling FRC (916) 645-3300

#### **Roseville:**

Roseville Fire Department (916) 772-6300

CHP Capitol Protection

CHP North Sacramento (916) 348-2317 \*CHP Vallev Division (916) 731-6320

\*Dignity Health Mercy San Juan Methodist Hospital (916) 864-5779

\*UC Davis Health (916) 734-9798

## AAA:

HHSA

West

Yolo:

Sacramento:

West Sac Fire

(916) 617-4600

\*CHP Woodland

(530) 662-4685

\*Woodland PD

(530) 661-2115

Woodland Fire

(530) 661-5858

(530) 406-4410

Department

\*Yolo County

Department

Visit aaa.com/carseats

#### \*Spanish Speaking

For questions about this flyer, call Sacramento County Car Seat Program at (916) 875-5869 (CA Relay 711)

#### **Updated January 2023**

## Sacramento:

(916) 341-4740