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Intent:  
A. To establish direction and guidelines for Patient Initiated Refusal of EMS assessment, 

treatment and/or transport (collectively referred to in this policy as “EMS care”) for 
Sacramento County Emergency Medical Services Paramedics and Emergency Medical 
Technician (EMT) at the scene of a medical emergency. EMS personnel have a duty to 
act in the best interest of all patients. No individual shall be encouraged to refuse EMS 
care. 

Authority:  
A. California Health and Safety Code, Division 2.5 
B. California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 9 
C. California Welfare and Institution Code, § 5008, 5150 and 5170 

 
Definitions: 

A. Agent/attorney-in-fact: An individual designated in a Durable Power of Attorney for 
Health Care to make health care decisions for the patient, regardless of whether the 
person is known as an agent/attorney-in-fact, or by some other term. 

B. Durable Power of Attorney for Health Care (DPAHC):  Allows an individual to appoint 
an agent or attorney-in-fact to make health care decisions if they become incapacitated. 
Decisions made by the agent/attorney-in-fact must be within the limits set by the 
DPAHC, if any. 

C. Conservatorship:  A court case where a judge appoints a responsible person or 
organization (called the “conservator”) to care for another adult (called the 
“conservatee”) who cannot care for himself or herself. 

D. Minor: An individual under the age of 18 years. 
E. Emancipated: An individual under the age of 18 years old who is married, on active 

duty in the military, or emancipated by court declaration. 
F. Parent: The lawful mother or father of a non-emancipated minor.  
G. Legal Guardian: An individual who has been granted legal authority to care for another 

person. Legal guardianship is commonly used for incapacitated seniors, developmentally 
delayed adults and minors. 

H. Person: An individual, who is alert, cooperative and can demonstrate decision making 
capacity, who does not have a complaint suggestive of an illness/injury, does not 
request evaluation of an illness/injury, nor has suffered a mechanism that has a 
reasonable likelihood to cause injury and/or in the judgement of EMS personnel, does 
not demonstrate a known or suspected illness/injury that requires EMS care. 

I. Patient: An individual who has a complaint suggestive of an illness/injury, or has 
suffered a mechanism reasonably likely to cause injury, requests evaluation of an 
illness/injury, and/or in the judgment of EMS personnel, demonstrates a known or 
suspected illness/injury that requires EMS care. 
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J. Patient Representative: An individual legally responsible for healthcare decisions 
involving a patient (parent, legal guardian, conservator, and agent/attorney-in-fact). 
Note: a law enforcement officer may also legally represent a patient who is in their 
custody if the circumstances warrant.  

K. Next of Kin: A family member who is not the parent of a minor patient, and DOES NOT 
have legal standing to be a patient representative. This would include a spouse who 
does NOT have a DPACH.  

L. Competent Individual: An individual who has the capacity to understand the 
circumstances for which EMS care is indicated, and the risks associated with refusing all 
or part of such care. They are alert and their judgement is not impaired by alcohol, 
drugs/medications, illness, injury, or grave disability. 

M. Impaired Capacity: A patient lacking full capacity to understand the emergent nature of 
their medical condition due to, but not limited to, alcohol, drugs or medications, mental 
illness, traumatic injury or gravely disability. 

Policy: 
A. No individual will be denied EMS care on the basis of age, sex, race, creed, color, origin, 

economic status, language, sexual preference, disease, or injury. 
B. Individuals determined by EMS personnel to meet the definition of a person according to 

this policy do not require EMS care.  
C. A Patient Care Report (PCR) shall be completed on all patient contacts.  The PCR shall 

document all assessment and care rendered to the patient by all out of hospital 
providers and all refusals of assessment, care and/or transport. 

D. Patient assessment and refusal of EMS care shall be performed by Advanced Life 
Support (ALS) personnel whenever possible. Basic Life Support (BLS) personnel may 
only complete the refusal of EMS care procedures if ALS personnel are not on scene 
and do not meet criteria as listed under Procedure A (4). BLS personnel shall not 
continue ALS personnel to scene for the sole purpose of completing the refusal of EMS 
care documentation.   

E. A patient, or patient representative acting on behalf of the patient, may decline all or part 
of EMS care if all the following actions have taken place: 
1. EMS personnel have provided the patient/patient representative enough information 

about the decision they are making so that there is informed consent. 
2. EMS personnel are satisfied that the patient/patient representative is competent and 

has understood the risk and options concerning their decision. 
3. EMS personnel have involved law enforcement and/or the base hospital in situations 

required by this policy. 
F. The patient/patient representative must sign an appropriate release developed by the 

provider stating that emergency evaluation has been rendered, transportation offered, 
and that the patient chooses an alternative evaluation plan.  

G. Patients with Physician Orders for Life Sustaining Treatment (POLST) form indicating no 
transport may decline transportation, as per policy PD# 2085 - Do not Resuscitate 
(DNR). 

Procedure: 
A. The highest medical authority on scene shall complete the following procedures for any 

patient, or patient representative on behalf of the patient, refusing EMS care: 
1. Perform a patient assessment as indicated by the patient’s 

complaint/condition/presentation. 
2. Document the patient assessment was performed as indicated by the patient’s 

complaint/condition/presentation. 
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3. Request/involve law enforcement for any of the following patient circumstances:  
a.   Attempted suicide, verbalized suicidal/homicidal ideations, or on a 5150 hold. 
b. Clearly irrational decision making in the presence of a potentially life threatening 

condition or gravely disabled. 
c. Concern for patient neglect or endangerment. 

4. Base hospital consultation shall be done by an ALS provider while in close proximity 
to the patient for any of the following patient circumstances: 
a. Complaint of new onset of altered level of consciousness (LOC). 
b. A patient, assessed by EMS personnel to have impaired decision making 

capacity. 
c. Potentially life threatening condition, including but not limited to, patients meeting 

STEMI, stroke, or trauma triage criteria. 
d. Unstable vital signs (SBP < 90mmHg, resting Heart Rate > 120, or a Respiratory 

Rate > 20) 
e. Disagreement between law enforcement and EMS personnel about whether or 

not the patient requires EMS care.  
f. A patient who is not legally responsible for their own healthcare decision making 

(non-emancipated minor, conservatee, patient with a DPAHC, etc.) being 
released to self or another individual on scene who is not their legally designated 
healthcare decision maker (parent, legal guardian, conservator, and 
agent/attorney-in-fact). 

g. Any circumstance where the patient’s decision making capacity is unclear or 
EMS personnel believe that the involvement of the base hospital would be 
beneficial. 

h. Patients in law enforcement custody or under 5150 hold do not require consent 
for transport. However, patients in law enforcement custody or under 5150 hold 
may decline treatment unless, in the prehospital provider’s discretion, withholding 
treatment could potentially cause harm to either the patient or providers.  

i. Patients who are not legally responsible for their own healthcare decision making 
(non-emancipated minor, concervatee, patient with a DPHC, etc.), and who do 
not have a legally designated healthcare decision maker on scene with them, 
shall not be released without base hospital consultation. 

j. Pediatric Brief Resolved Unexplained Event (BRUE) patients will have base 
hospital consult if treatment/transport is refused by parent or guardian. 

k. Base hospital contact for pediatric trauma patients will be to UC Davis Medical 
Center. 

5. Prior to releasing patients who are not legally responsible for their own healthcare 
decision making (non-emancipated minor, conservatee, patient with a DPAHC, etc.), 
EMS personnel shall also attempt to contact the patient’s legally designated 
healthcare decision maker (parent, legal guardian, conservator, agent/attorney-in-
fact) if they are not already on scene.  Contact details (method of contact, reason for 
inability to contact if applicable, etc.), as well as information on which the patient was 
actually released to shall be adequately documented in the patient care report. 

6. A patient, or patient representative on behalf of the patient, continuing to refuse EMS 
care, despite the foregoing measures, must sign a Patient Initiated Refusal of EMS 
Assessment, Treatment and/or Transport form or similar, witnessed by one of the 
following, in order of preference: 
a. Immediate family member 
b. Law enforcement officer 
c. Other EMS personnel 
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• If the patient/patient representative refuses to sign the Patient Initiated 
Refusal of EMS Assessment, Treatment and/or Transport form, EMS 
personnel shall adequately document this information on both the patient 
care report and the Patient Initiated Refusal of EMS Assessment, Treatment 
and/or Transport form, and obtain a witness signature (in the same order of 
preference listed above) attesting to the fact that the patient refused to sign. 
Next of kin do not have legal authority to sign refusal of care.  

7. Provider agencies are responsible for routinely auditing refusal of EMS care calls.  
Random auditing of these types of calls shall occur on a minimum of a monthly 
basis.  
 

 
Cross Reference:         PD# 9019 - Pediatric Brief Resolved Unexplained Event (BRUE)            
   PD# 2085 - Do Not Resuscitate (DNR)                                                    


	EMS Medical Director             EMS Administrator

