​​​​​​​​​​The CARE Act is divided into the following:
  • Part A (forme​rly known as Title I)
  • Part B (formerly known as Title II)
  • Part C (formerly known as Title III)
  • Part D (formerly known as Title IV)
  • Part F

Part A. Provides emergency relief grants to cities for health and support services for low-income and under- or uninsured persons living with HIV and AIDS and their families. Services include health care and support services such as medical and dental care, prescription drugs, transportation, counseling, and hospice care.

A total of 55 cities are now eligible for Part A formula grants. All cities that are eligible for formula grants are also eligible for supplemental grants, which are awarded to cities demonstrating additional critical needs.

Part B. Provides formula grants to all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and U.S. territories to improve the quality, accessibility, and organization of health care and support for those with HIV and AIDS. Services include direct health care and support, home and community-based care, assistance in continuing private health insurance coverage, and treatments and drugs that prolong life and/or prevent hospitalization through AIDS drug assistance programs.

Part C. Provides grants for comprehensive primary health care services for people living with AIDS and at-risk populations, including women, the homeless, and substance abusers to slow transmission of the disease and provide early intervention through education, counseling, testing, and treatment. To qualify for funds, organizations must be public or nonprofit private entities.

Currently, 174 HIV early intervention and primary care services programs are funded in 37 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

Sacramento County residents currently benefit from Part C. These funds have been awarded directly to the Cares Community Health, a full-service clinic serving the greater Sacramento area and surrounding communities.

Part D. Provides grants for coordinated HIV/AIDS services and access to research for children, youth, women, and families. Applicants must demonstrate the ability to provide access to clinical trials or to establish links with providers offering clinical trials or other research.

Currently, there are no Part D grants provided to the Sacramento area.

Part F. Added in 1996 to combine previously existing programs, this part includes: (1) 15 AIDS Education and Training Centers (AETCs) that provide training for health care professionals in early diagnosis and treatment of HIV infection; (2) the Dental Reimbursement Program, which assists dental schools and post-doctoral dental programs through grants for uncompensated costs incurred in providing oral health treatment to patients with HIV disease; and (3) the Special Projects of National Significance Program, which supports, through competitive grants, time-limited projects that demonstrate and evaluate innovative service delivery models for special populations with HIV disease.

The Sacramento Transitional Grant Area (TGA) is one of the AETC's referred to above and is operated and managed by the University of California Davis Medical Center. Funding and general information may be obtained by telephoning (916) 734-3365.

Ryan White Program
 (916) 876-5548